Trending - April 23, 2024

Big Update: Bahrain Citizens Can Now Apply for Five-Year Schengen Visas


The European Union has announced a relaxation of the visa rules for citizens of Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and Oman. As per the new rules, nationals of these three GCC countries will be eligible for multiple-entry visas, allowing them to visit the EU multiple times over five years with the same visa.

The updated visa code is part of a concept known as the “cascade,” a “harmonized approach” to issuing multiple-entry visas with long validity for all eligible applicants, including first-time travellers.

During the validity period of these visas, holders enjoy travel rights equivalent to visa-free nationals.

This update aims to standardize visa regulations for all GCC countries whose citizens require visas to access the Schengen Area.

The implementation of the five-year visa rule marks a significant step forward in strengthening people-to-people relations between the EU and the GCC.

The Schengen Area, which includes 29 European countries and is the largest free-travel zone globally, expanded last February to include Bulgaria and Romania, eliminating all air and maritime border controls.

Austria Denmark Greece Liechtenstein Norway Slovenia
Belgium Estonia Hungary Lithuania Poland Spain
Bulgaria Finland Iceland Luxembourg Portugal Sweden
Czech Republic France Italy Malta Romania Switzerland
Croatia Germany Latvia Netherlands Slovakia  
The Schengen Area is comprised of 29 countries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *