WhatsApp on Thursday launched the much-awaited ‘Disappearing Messages’ on its platform for both Android and iOS users that will automatically delete new messages sent to a chat after seven days when turned on.
In a one-to-one chat, either person can turn disappearing messages on or off. In groups, admins will have the control on the new feature.
The Facebook-owned platform is starting with the seven-day limit “because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent, while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about”.
The feature will be rolling out to over two billion active users globally this month.
Once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days.
The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat.
If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven-day period, the message will disappear.
However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.