Formula 1 is finally returning to Bahrain with a double treat!

Formula 1 has announced the addition of four more races to the 2020 calendar with Bahrain  hosting a back-to-back double header later this year.

The Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2020 will be held at the Bahrain International Circuit on November 29, followed by the Sakhir Grand Prix on December 6. Turkey’s Intercity Istanbul Park will host a Grand Prix for the first time since 2011 this year on November 15. 

The season concluding Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will take place at the Yas Marina Circuit on December 13. This will be the first time Bahrain is hosting a back-to-back double header.  

Formula 1 also confirmed that the Chinese Grand Prix, which was initially postponed earlier this year, will now not be run in 2020, bringing the current race total to 17 for the season. 

The F2 season, meanwhile, will conclude with the Bahrain double-header, bringing their season to 12 rounds, as originally planned. 

A statement from Formula 1 said: “We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible. 

“Sadly, we will not be racing in China this season and want to thank our partner Juss Sports for their support and engagement in recent months and hugely look forward to returning to Shanghai next year.”