Bahrain adds three more countries to its ‘Red List’ from August 12

The Civil Aviation Affairs has updated travel regulations, expanding the number of Red List countries, in line with directives issued by the Government Executive Committee after a review of the latest recommendations of the National Medical Taskforce for Combating the Coronavirus (COVID-19), effective 12 August 2021.

Red List countries

Newly added: 

  • Republic of Georgia
  • Republic of Ukraine
  • Republic of Malawi 

Existing countries:

  • The Republic of India
  • The Republic of Islamic Pakistan
  • Socialist Democratic Republic of Sri Lanka
  • People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  • Socialist Republic of Vietnam
  • Republic of Mozambique
  • Republic of the Union of Myanmar
  • Republic of Zimbabwe
  • People’s Republic of Mongolia
  • Republic of Namibia
  • The United States of Mexico
  • The Republic of Tunisia
  • The Islamic Republic of Iran
  • The Republic of South Africa
  • The Republic of Indonesia
  • The Republic of Iraq
  • The Republic of the Philippines
  • The Republic of Panama
  • The Kingdom of Malaysia
  • The Republic of Uganda
  • The Dominican Republic

Passengers arriving from Red List countries, including passengers who have transited through any of those countries at any point in the preceding 14 days, are prohibited from entry unless they are citizens or residents of the Kingdom of Bahrain. 

Passengers eligible for entry must present a negative PCR certificate, with a QR code, administered within 48 hours of their departure, undergo further testing upon arrival, and on their 10th day of mandatory quarantine. Payment for testing may be made on arrival or through the ‘BeAware Bahrain’ application.

Designated quarantine centres licensed by the National Health Regulatory Authority (NHRA) are available. Passengers with an address in Bahrain registered in their name or the name of an immediate family member may complete their 10-day mandatory quarantine at that residence. Passengers aged six and below are exempt from these requirements. 

All other travel procedures for arrivals from non-red List countries remain in place.